Tell me the good of parenthood

I need to hear some good stories right now about motherhood. I’ve been hearing a lot of stories about children slapping their parents in the face, depression, ungrateful brats, kids so stubborn they’d rather starve than eat their brussel sprouts, and just a shared sense of overall futility.

I know it’s not all going to be roses. I know there will be sleepless nights and tantrums that can’t be soothed. There are possibilities for a million things to go wrong: poor breast feeding experiences, colick, post-partum depression, diseases, ailments, a kid that doesn’t understand personal space or that not all volume needs to be at 11. I know that I in fact have very little influence over my child and who she will become, and the best I can really do is teach her table manners, how to read and do math, and make sure she gets plenty of fresh air and exercise.

My husband is still thinking with rose-colored glasses in many ways, and could probably use some more real life crashing down on him. So feel free to share all your "no sleep for three weeks" stories with him.

Instead tell me of the good things. Of the cooing and smiles that will melt my heart. Of the small developmental steps that will feel like a victory for both of us. About letting the kid venture out on her own and being fine. About her jumping and waving at fireworks on the 4th of July, or just being soooo excited about the elephant at the zoo. I’m a worrier by nature, and while I’ve been overall fairly zen about this whole pregnancy/"going to be a mom" experience, I need to hear that the pain and anger and worry and sleepless nights are worth it. I know they are, but I need to hear it from outside.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

