Finally spilled the beans to the world

Yesterday I finally told my community of friends, coworkers, and Facebook acquaintances that I’ve got a bun in the oven. Everyone was really excited, including my very pregnant coworker which for some reason I thought she might be a little territorial or something (I dunno! Some women are weird, even when they’re not pregnant). I’m even getting to hear cool stories (no scary stories yet) about other people’s pregnancies and how stuff worked for them, tips on places and communities they frequent, what they consider themselves "experts" on, that kind of thing.

I even got to hear a cute fetus story from my coworker:

My coworker’s husband plays the drums. Thankfully he wasn’t this night as she was trying to go to sleep, but she could feel a constant thumping in her stomach. At first she thought it was her heartbeat, but then she felt her baby turn over and the thumping stopped. Then it started up again; thump, thump, thump, thump. She realized her baby was kicking her like she was a drum, and had really good rhythm. How cute is that?!

I’m looking forward to hearing these kinds of stories and getting good tips, not the scary "oh, don’t drink too much water or you’ll drown your baby," kind of crap which in any normal circumstance you could blow off but because you’re a new mom in charge of growing another human being!, you’re already a little spooked and more susceptible to bad comments and advice.

Anyway, super excited the word is out and I can now say stuff like, "I’m excited I don’t have an aversion to pork roast anymore!" or "I haven’t worked out in a month because I was too exhausted from growing a baby!" Hooray!

Leave a Reply

