Week 6 and only miiiiild symptoms

*edit*: Ugh, I need to learn to count. According to some schedules I’m 6 weeks, but according to others I’m only 5…

As of today I’m 6 weeks, 2 days pregnant, and I’ve had only really mild symptoms so far. My boobs feel fuller and slightly more tender. I’ve had very mild cramping, increased appetite, and sleepiness/spaciness that sometimes makes me want to take a nap at 2pm, but last night I easily stayed up until midnight.

I know my mom didn’t have any major symptoms when she was pregnant with me, and while I know I should feel lucky, it’s also a little unnerving. There’s a slight increased chance of miscarrying with women who don’t have morning sickness. BUT, I also know that anywhere from 25 – 50% of women DON’T actually have morning sickness, or if they do it lasts like a week and they’re over it. So I’m just hoping I’m following in my mom and sister-in-law’s footsteps and not having morning sickness with my first kiddo.

Ziggy (the zygote) is now the size of a lentil, and by the end of the week should have little arm and leg nubbules. For some reason I just love the idea of Ziggy waving his little arm and leg stumps screaming “weeeeeeeee” whenever I ride my bike down a hill, or laugh, or eat some food he’s totally craving. I really am looking forward to bonding with this little guy (or gal, but apparently there are 105 boy births to every 103 girl births, so my chances of having a boy are a teensy bit higher, so boy for now) over the next few months, and I just hate the idea that I wouldn’t get to do that. Hang in there Ziggy! I’m willing to feel sick every once in awhile if it means you’ve got all the hormones you need to develop normally.

Leave a Reply

